PPCGeeks Forums HTC Arrive HTC HD2 HTC Thunderbolt HTC Touch Pro 2 HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 3D Samsung Galaxy S II Motorola Droid X Apple iPhone Blackberry
Go Back   PPCGeeks > Windows Mobile > WM HTC Devices > HTC Touch Pro
Register Community Search

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2009, 05:42 AM
PPCGeeks Regular
Pocket PC: touch pro
Carrier: srpint

lasteclispe is just getting started
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Point of custom rom?

I know I'm probably going to sound like a huge noob but it is a serious question.

I have been using windows mobile phones for about 4 years mostly for entertainment use as I'm a student so do not need it for business. I have been reading about custom roms and such for the past 4 years and tonight I decided to finally give it a try.

Now my question is what exactly is the point of a custom rom? I upgraded to mighty rom 5 and sure it looks a bit better than my stock phone but I really dont see any amazing features. I seems like it's just a nice theme.

On a side note how do I change whats displayed on the today screen? out of all the things listed I only use like two of them? Would much prefer to have weather/s2u2 and some other programs there.
Old 05-04-2009, 05:49 AM
PPCGeeks Regular
Pocket PC: HTC Touch Pro
Carrier: Sprint

pjtwist2002 knows their stuffpjtwist2002 knows their stuffpjtwist2002 knows their stuffpjtwist2002 knows their stuffpjtwist2002 knows their stuffpjtwist2002 knows their stuffpjtwist2002 knows their stuff
Send a message via AIM to pjtwist2002
Re: Point of custom rom?

custom roms generally run better like help with lag issues and etc. they also come with cool features (today screen, increase battery, tabs, contacts) and programs but im a noob to just telling u what i know but other people with help you out on this better then i can!
Old 05-04-2009, 08:00 AM
ptfdmedic

Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)