PPCGeeks Forums HTC Arrive HTC HD2 HTC Thunderbolt HTC Touch Pro 2 HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 3D Samsung Galaxy S II Motorola Droid X Apple iPhone Blackberry
Go Back   PPCGeeks > Windows Mobile > WM HTC Devices > HTC Touch Pro
Register Community Search

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2009, 08:00 PM
Lurker
Pocket PC: HTC touch pro

rma040385 is a n00b
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Pros/Cons of custome ROMS

How's it going guy/gals

I am fairly new to this and would like to know what are some of the pros and cons in doing a custom ROM. I have a CDMA Touch Pro (Sprint) and want to just get to know the phone a little better and see what it can really do.

Any info is deeply appreciated

Thanks in advance

Rick

P.S. any recomendations in custom ROMS is deeply appreciated.
Old 01-07-2009, 08:06 PM
Halfway to VIP Status
Pocket PC: Touch Pro 2
Carrier: Sprint

Skelator03 is becoming a PPCGeeks regularSkelator03 is becoming a PPCGeeks regularSkelator03 is becoming a PPCGeeks regular
Re: Pros/Cons of custome ROMS

Custom The Way To Go No Reason Not To
This post has been thanked 1 times.
Old 01-07-2009, 08:07 PM
PPCGeeks Regular
Pocket PC: Touch Pro

evilpeople is becoming a great contributor

Custom ROMs can offer greater speed, useful tweaks, additional applications and more flexibility than the stock ROM. They can also have new bugs. They require you to flash your phone's firmware, which can possibly damage your phone, even though it is very unlikely.

As far as which one to use, just pick one that has the tweaks and features you want and try it out!

Personally, I've been using Juggalo_X's ROM for some time now, and I must say it's much better than the stock ROM. It's stable, fast and easy to flash (even for a beginner). The current version is here: http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=49341

Good luck!
This post has been thanked 2 times.
Old 01-07-2009, 08:09 PM
Halfway to VIP Status