PPCGeeks Forums HTC Arrive HTC HD2 HTC Thunderbolt HTC Touch Pro 2 HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 3D Samsung Galaxy S II Motorola Droid X Apple iPhone Blackberry
Go Back   PPCGeeks > Windows Mobile > WM HTC Devices > HTC Touch Pro
Register Community Search

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2009, 01:59 AM
N00b
Pocket PC: HTC Touch Pro/Palm Treo Pro
Carrier: Sprint

shailigum is just getting started
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Looking for knowlegable people, please read

Hey hows it goin guys...im new to the forums here and im new to windows mobile as well, just recently switched over to the mogul from the instinct and well im wayyy more satisfied with it than I ever was with my instinct.
Right now i'm running a custom ROM on my Mogul, Titanium v. something...it definately improved the usability of the device over the default OS, but still is a little laggy for my taste. Not to fear ill be getting a touch pro either tomorrow or monday so that's where my real interest currently lies.
Lemme get to my point.
Basically i'm here to introduce myself considering ill probably be spending alot of time here (and to be honest, at other forums as well) after I get my pro, and also cause I have some questions about stuff i'd like to understand. Before I ask anything i just wanna make it clear that i personally am very knowledgeable when it comes to techincal aspects of the computer world in general so I don't have too hard of a time understanding majority of things.
Now for my questions.

1. What is the difference between using the default sprint rom or a custom one? Advantages vs. disadvantages? What should I be considering in selecting a ROM for use? What's the best one? What is a 'kitchen'?

2. What is the difference between the different radios? What are the disadvantages/advantages of using different ones? What is the purpose of changing to a different radio? What's the best one?