PPCGeeks Forums HTC Arrive HTC HD2 HTC Thunderbolt HTC Touch Pro 2 HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 3D Samsung Galaxy S II Motorola Droid X Apple iPhone Blackberry
Go Back   PPCGeeks > Windows Mobile > WM HTC Devices > HTC Vogue
Register Community Search

Notices

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2009, 12:31 PM
Lurker
Pocket PC: HTC TOUCH
Carrier: VERIZON

matc23 is a n00b
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
First timer need help

This is my first time ever changing anything on my phone. I realy don't have any idea what to do to get some different themes or downloads for my phone. I was hoping to get the slide feature like the i phone and maybe some other cool features for my xv6900 if anyone could or wants to help out i would greatly appreciate it thanks.
This post has been thanked 1 times.
Old 04-16-2009, 12:35 PM
N00b
Pocket PC: Touch Diamond
Carrier: Sprint

00gt1 is keeping up the good work00gt1 is keeping up the good work
Re: First timer need help

a.) Read the how to's

b.) learn the Common Terms:

Kitchen: A complilation of programs that deconstruct, allow customization, and reconstruct a ROM.
ROM: Technically Read Only Memory, this is essentially the software on your phone that can be customized through a Kitchen and then Flashed onto your phone.
Cooking: The process of using a Kitchen to customize a ROM.
Flashing: The process of loading a ROM onto your phone via the RUU.
RUU: ROM Upgrade Utility, used to Flash a ROM onto your phone.
NBH: A file type (.nbh). This is a ROM.
Unlocking: The process of making your phone Flashable by custom ROMs.
Relocking: The process of going from an Unlocked state a Locked state.
OS: Operating System, this is the main part of your phone, Windows Mobile, including the kernel, drivers, programs and interface.
SPL: The bootloader of your phone. This loads the OS.
SSPL: Soft-SPL, a modified SPL that is loaded for a short time in order to write an HSPL.