PPCGeeks Forums HTC Arrive HTC HD2 HTC Thunderbolt HTC Touch Pro 2 HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 3D Samsung Galaxy S II Motorola Droid X Apple iPhone Blackberry
Go Back   PPCGeeks > Windows Mobile > WM HTC Devices > HTC Touch Pro
Register Community Search

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2008, 05:34 PM
Lurker
Pocket PC: HTC Touch Pro
Carrier: Sprint

whinecellar is becoming a great contributor
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Touch Pro for Mac users

Howdy,

Been lurking here while I was researching the Touch Pro (resisting the urge to drink the iPhone cool-aid). Based on my needs and frustration with some major missing features on the iPhone, I pulled the trigger on a TP about a week ago. So far so good - amazing phone and as much of an Apple fan as I am, this thing blows away the iPhone in almost every way.

OK, so being a Mac guy I'm completely new to the WinMo world and I'm wondering if anyone might be so kind as to offer some advice.

1. Anyone know of a Mac-based solution that will allow me to completely back up my Sprint TP? I know about Missing Sync but that will only back up my basic data (contacts, calendars, media files, etc.) - I don't think it will back up the entire state of the phone as far as I know...

2. Is there anything in particular I need to know about installing custom ROMs coming from the Mac side? In particular, I'd like to try the audiopara volume hack (but I'd also like to go back to factory state in case I need to return the phone). Do I just drag the downloaded CAB to the phone and run it from there?

Any other tips/tricks anyone cares to share for Mac guys? You all seem like a really helpful bunch - hoping that applies to those of us "in the orchard."

Thanks in advance!

JD
Old 11-02-2008, 05:48 PM
Noob
Carrier: Sprint SERO