PPCGeeks Forums HTC Arrive HTC HD2 HTC Thunderbolt HTC Touch Pro 2 HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 3D Samsung Galaxy S II Motorola Droid X Apple iPhone Blackberry
Go Back   PPCGeeks > Windows Mobile > WM HTC Devices > HTC Titan
Register Community Search

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2008, 10:24 PM
Lurker
Pocket PC: HTC Touch Pro 2
Carrier: Sprint

bob330 is a n00b
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
how to improve search in contact manager?

Hi,
I am new to Mogul, just got it a month ago.. I have upgraded it to the 3.35 rom and it is much better but I still have issues with having 6000+ contacts (its the company's contacts book) in my contacts manager.... it takes a while to search for anyone in my contacts manager.. If I do the same search (with same amount of contacts) on a Palm OS, it just instantly shows the result. WM6 looks like it would search on anywhere the 'searched' text existed, while palm os just search on the last name(i think; therefore its faster?)...
Any ideas on how to speed up searches of contacts?
also I notice that when I tried to use the 'alphabetical index', it does not work.. I guess at 6k+, it could not create an index?
Not to mention, anytime I reset the device, it would be very slow for the first few (maybe over 5) minutes (almost to a point where the screen does not respond to anything).. This does not happen before I imported the 6000+ contacts... and looks like having this much contacts on the phone takes a nice chunk of ram (free ram of maybe around 10mb).... I guess it tries to load all contacts to the ram when it restarts.. by any chance, anyone have a suggestion on how to speed this up?

Sorry if this issue has already been solved in another thread, perhaps someone could point it to me, because I could not find it while searching...

Thank you in advance
Old 03-25-2008, 11:07 PM
VIP Member
Pocket PC: HTC Mogul, HTC Apache