PPCGeeks Forums HTC Arrive HTC HD2 HTC Thunderbolt HTC Touch Pro 2 HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 3D Samsung Galaxy S II Motorola Droid X Apple iPhone Blackberry
Go Back   PPCGeeks > Android > General Android Discussion

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2012, 02:56 PM
PPCGeeks Regular
Pocket PC: XV6700/Touch Pro
Carrier: Sprint

0Gravity is just getting started
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Battery Drain after Rooting?

Hi All,
I am totally new to Android so bear with me...lol, I just replaced my old TP2 with the Epic 4g Touch, and decided a couple nights ago to Root it in order to get the free Wifi Hotspot fix...So far that is all I have done is Root and install Wifi Tether, I have not used the Wifi tether at all except for getting it installed and configuring it to work! When I first got the phone it was all I could do to put it down...I was DLing apps and playing games and pretty much the screen was lit all day...In other words I used the hell out of it. and I would not usually have to put it on charge until 7 or 8 pm...which coming from the TP2 is HEAVEN!

Since Rooting the phone and installing Wifi Tether I have noticed that I have used the device less and it seems like the battery is draining faster and I have to put it on charge by 5 pm or so! I have not been using any different apps then I was just a few days ago, and I did notice it almost immediatly after I rooted the phone! Could anything in the rooting process or Wifi Tether be using power resources?

Thanks,
Mike
Old 01-06-2012, 04:06 PM
Almost a VIP
Pocket PC: OnePlus 8 5G
Carrier: T-Mobile