PPCGeeks Forums HTC Arrive HTC HD2 HTC Thunderbolt HTC Touch Pro 2 HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 3D Samsung Galaxy S II Motorola Droid X Apple iPhone Blackberry
Go Back   PPCGeeks > Windows Mobile > WM HTC Devices > HTC Apache
Register Community Search

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2008, 08:10 AM
Lurker
Pocket PC: Q9C
Carrier: Alltel Prepaid

ImTinkerbell is a n00b
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Continually connecting to neighbor's WIFI - NooB here...

Yes, I'm afraid I'm another one of those... a NooB. I was hoping somebody might be able to help this technically not-so-savvy older lady out.

I recently set up my 6700, but my WIFI continually wants to connect to my next door neighbor's unsecured WIFI. My own network shows as available, and whenever I try to connect to my own, 8 out of 10 times it defaults to my neighbor's and not my own.

Is there a way that I can set the default for which network I want it to connect to?

I am running 6.1, build 19716.1.0.0, if that helps...

You'll probably have to use pretty basic instructions with me, as I grew up in a low technology generation and I'm just starting to understand things.

Thank you in advance for any help!

Lynda
Old 05-08-2008, 08:55 AM
Regular 'Geeker
Pocket PC: Incredible
Carrier: Verizon

gambatte is becoming a PPCGeeks regulargambatte is becoming a PPCGeeks regulargambatte is becoming a PPCGeeks regulargambatte is becoming a PPCGeeks regular
Re: Continually connecting to neighbor's WIFI - NooB here...

Have you ever done any intervention to connect your network at all or just turned the WIFI on and let 'er rip? Usually, when you connect your network by viewing your available networks, tap and hold yours, and select connect, it will connect to that one until your change it to another. That is of course if you are in range. Also, is your network secured? You will have to input the encryption key but sounds like you can connect OK 20% of the time.
This post has been thanked 1 times.