View Single Post
Old 07-02-2008, 11:58 AM
gambatte
Regular 'Geeker

gambatte is becoming a PPCGeeks regulargambatte is becoming a PPCGeeks regulargambatte is becoming a PPCGeeks regulargambatte is becoming a PPCGeeks regular
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: Apache WM6 CE OS 5.2.1620 (Build 18125.0.4.2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BCSavage View Post
I'm going to continue reading, but if someone could pipe up with the following that'd be swell

- what program do I need to load WM6 onto the device?
- what exactly is it that I am doing to the phone with said software?
- what file(s) do I load onto the phone using above software?
- as a complete beginner, what are the odds of me bricking the thing because I don't know all the tricks?

I wish it were as simple as loading a new OS onto my home PC. Computers I get fully, but for some reasons phones elude me.
Q1: You will need BuildOS, aka "the kitchen". This is where you "cook" the customized ROM to your carrier specification and can add some additional programs. There are alot of versions and you can get the current in the stickies at the top of this upgrade subforum. I believe the ugraded LennySH is the most current.
Q2/3:You are flashing the ROM (=Read Only Memory), where the OS files reside. Flash (=update) and you use the RUU (ROM Update Utility) in the kitchen in conjunction with Activesync to transfer the ROM to the phone. Because of the kitchen, you can also place other programs as well. Because it is ROM, you can't change this file by file (e.g. like a PC OS upgrade). You have to reflash the entire ROM.