View Single Post
Old 06-14-2010, 11:42 PM
iknowsquat
Retired Staff

iknowsquat is a trusted member of the communityiknowsquat is a trusted member of the communityiknowsquat is a trusted member of the communityiknowsquat is a trusted member of the communityiknowsquat is a trusted member of the communityiknowsquat is a trusted member of the communityiknowsquat is a trusted member of the communityiknowsquat is a trusted member of the communityiknowsquat is a trusted member of the communityiknowsquat is a trusted member of the communityiknowsquat is a trusted member of the community
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: OMJ's HTC EVO 2.1 Custom ROM | Eclair | *Updated | 6/10/10*

Quote:
Originally Posted by r.mauldin View Post
What are the advantages of the new root? I am a driod newb and have no clue. I am downloading the files for the part2. I figure I might as well learn how to do it. Just in case later I need to be able to.
From frakenstein @ XDA

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankenstein\ View Post
There are a couple of key things that it does. First it unlocks the bits of your system that remain locked via nand. basically the system is being told to mount certain directories like /system as read only and not let you remount it as RW. This means your rooted but not completely because you can't re-mount these directories as RW under the android os. Doing this will allow you to remount /system as RW or read/write under the andriod os which will allow you modify things in the /system/app directory letting you clean up bloatware you don't want without having to boot into recovery to do so. (Among other things... that's just a good example of what this gives you.)