PPCGeeks Forums HTC Arrive HTC HD2 HTC Thunderbolt HTC Touch Pro 2 HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 3D Samsung Galaxy S II Motorola Droid X Apple iPhone Blackberry
Go Back   PPCGeeks > Windows Mobile > WM HTC Devices > HTC Apache > HTC Apache Development

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2007, 11:58 AM
PPCGeeks Regular
Pocket PC: Samsung Omnia
Carrier: Verizon

cakek is a n00b
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
"no Unicode byte order mark"??????

OK, this is my first time adding my own programs to the Kitchen. I did everything as the "Apache Kitchen Walkthrough" told me to. As soon as I start up the BuildOS the following message comes up for every program that I added:

USER_OEM\Optional_Misc_(my program)\Option.xml
There is no Unicode byte order mark. Cannot switch to Unicode.

I tried to go back and change the Encoding to Unicode and back to ANSI but is does not seem to make a difference. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I feeel like I'm almost there!
Old 11-24-2007, 03:02 PM
Retired Staff
Pocket PC: Apache (PPC6700); Titan (Mogul)
Carrier: Sprint

luv2chill is keeping up the good workluv2chill is keeping up the good work
Send a message via ICQ to luv2chill Send a message via AIM to luv2chill Send a message via MSN to luv2chill Send a message via Yahoo to luv2chill Send a message via Skype™ to luv2chill
Option.xml files should never be Unicode--always ANSI. I know that's confusing because every other text file you create (rgu, initflashfiles) needs to be Unicode BOM.

Re-encoding the file to ANSI should work, but if it doesn't try making a brand new option.xml file and leave it in ANSI to begin with.

BTW I suggest notepad2 (google for it) for text editing. If you don't have that you should be using notepad (not Word or Wordpad or whatever).
Old 11-25-2007, 03:05 PM
PPCGeeks Regular
Threadstarter

cakek is a n00b