PPCGeeks Forums HTC Arrive HTC HD2 HTC Thunderbolt HTC Touch Pro 2 HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 3D Samsung Galaxy S II Motorola Droid X Apple iPhone Blackberry
Go Back   PPCGeeks > Windows Mobile > WM HTC Devices > HTC Apache

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2009, 09:58 PM
Lurker
Pocket PC: PPC-6700
Carrier: Sprint

rhino4195 is a n00b
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Total n00b needs some help please!!

I am getting a sprint ppc 6700/apache and need some help. I want to put WM6.5 on it but dont know how. I realize that there are tutorials on this but if i dont know what anything means, these do me no good. I am litterally a total noob need help with even the very basics. What is bootloader? what is the kitchen? How do you use the kitchen? etc... I really need some help because I know nothing. If someone could inform me on this stuff it would be greatly appreciated. Like i said I just want to upgrade to WM6.5 and need some assistance. Thanks for any and all help!!
Old 09-14-2009, 05:05 AM
PPCGeeks Regular
Pocket PC: 6700/Apache

pio_masaki is keeping up the good workpio_masaki is keeping up the good work
Send a message via AIM to pio_masaki Send a message via MSN to pio_masaki
Re: Total n00b needs some help please!!

If you don't want to bother with the kitchen use this: http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=77355

Download the version range that matches your boot loader. To check the version click and hold the power button up top, the record button on the side, then hit the reset button in the bottom (its in the little hole). After that your device goes dark, but the screen will say USB up top and a version number in the bottom. Use a flashlight, or sunlight and move the angle of the screen until you can make it out, the backlight will be off.