PPCGeeks Forums HTC Arrive HTC HD2 HTC Thunderbolt HTC Touch Pro 2 HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 3D Samsung Galaxy S II Motorola Droid X Apple iPhone Blackberry
Go Back   PPCGeeks > Windows Mobile > WM HTC Devices > HTC Touch Pro 2 > Android On TP2
Register Community Search

Notices


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2011, 01:13 PM
Pohket's Avatar
Lurker
Offline
Pocket PC: Tilt2
Carrier: T-Mobile
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Reputation: 30
Pohket is just getting started
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Exclamation [HOWTO] Rhodium, WEP, and You

(also posted at xda-developers)

I'd like to start by thanking arrrghhh and BoominSVX for running thru some tests to see whether or not I had actually found a working solution.

NOTE: This solution requires altering a configuration file. How you alter the file is entirely up to you (vi, desktop utilizing adb, telekinesis, etc.).
I recommend backing up any file that you plan to edit or replace prior to mucking about with it.


WARNING: Instructions will tell you to turn off or restart Wi-Fi.
This is to ensure that the changes you have made to your configuration files are reloaded by wpa_supplicant.
Simply changing the configuration file is not sufficient!

In addition, I am not responsible for any damage that these instructions may cause to your device, your data, and/or your well-being.

PERFORM THESE ACTIONS AT YOUR RISK


The following instructions will take you through the 'long' method:

Connecting to WEP-enabled Wi-Fi (Easy/Standard)
  1. Go to Settings->Wireless & Networks -> Wi-Fi settings
  2. Turn on Wi-Fi if it is not enabled
  3. Setup your Wi-Fi connection
    • If your AP shows up in the list, select it and type in your WEP key
    • If your AP does not show up, use the Add Wi-Fi network. On the popup, type your SSID, select 'WEP' for Security, and type your WEP key in the Password.

    NOTE: At this point, the Wi-Fi status will go from "Scanning..." to "Connecting..." to "Disconnected"
  4. Turn Off Wi-Fi
  5. Backup the following file: /data/misc/wifi/wpa_supplicant.conf
    • The file contents should be similar to this:

      Code:
      ctrl_interface=eth0
      update_config=1
      
      network={
              ssid="YOURSSIDHERE"
              key_mgmt=NONE
              auth_alg=OPEN SHARED
              wep_key0=YOURWEPKEYHERE
              priority=1
      }
      The priority=1 may or may not be present, based on whether you selected from the scan list, or added it manually.

  6. Edit /data/misc/wifi/wpa_supplicant.conf and remove either OPEN or SHARED from the auth_alg line. Which one depends on whether the access point is using OPEN, SHARED (if it's using both you can choose which one you prefer to use)
    • After editing, OPEN will look like this:
      Code:
      ctrl_interface=eth0
      update_config=1
      
      network={
              ssid="YOURSSIDHERE"
              key_mgmt=NONE
              auth_alg=OPEN
              wep_key0=YOURWEPKEYHERE
              priority=1
      }
    • After editing, SHARED will look like this:
      Code:
      ctrl_interface=eth0
      update_config=1
      
      network={
              ssid="YOURSSIDHERE"
              key_mgmt=NONE
              auth_alg=SHARED
              wep_key0=YOURWEPKEYHERE
              priority=1
      }
  7. Go to Settings->Wireless & Networks and turn on Wi-Fi.
    • Your Wi-Fi status should now show the following values:
    • "Scanning..."
    • "Connecting..."
    • "Obtaining an IP address YOURSSIDHERE..."
    • "Connected to YOURSSIDHERE"

    NOTE: If you fail to connect, return to step 4 and try using the other auth_alg value.
    Some routers may be configured to only support one authentication mode.

That's the long method - for people who have never connected to a Wi-Fi connection, or don't mind losing saved APs can do the following

Connecting to WEP-enabled Wi-Fi (Advanced)
  1. Create your own wpa_supplicant.conf file, either by hand, using the above code snippets, or one of the template files in the zip
    • Replace YOURSSIDHERE with the value of your ssid.
    • Replace YOURWEPKEYHERE with the value of your WEP key.
  2. Place your edited wpa_supplicant.conf file in the /data/misc/wifi directory on your device
  3. Restart/Turn on Wi-Fi

This method has been tested using FRX04 system image, with both Stock and F22's updated rootfs.img file, and against both FRX04 shipped and WisTilt2's debug kernels.

Feel free to share your success and/or failure stories in this thread.
Attached Files
File Type: zip wpa_supplicant.conf.zip (543 Bytes, 38 views) Click for barcode!
Reply With Quote
This post has been thanked 6 times.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2011, 08:48 PM
adam1's Avatar
Regular 'Geeker
Offline
Pocket PC: HTC PRO 2
Carrier: SPRINT
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 179
Reputation: 70
adam1 is becoming a great contributor
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: [HOWTO] Rhodium, WEP, and You

5.Backup the following file: /data/misc/wifi/wpa_supplicant.conf***

where i can find that file???
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2011, 11:20 PM
ndno's Avatar
VIP Member
Offline
Pocket PC: Touch Pro 2
Carrier: Sprint
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 421
Reputation: 3570
ndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIPndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIPndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIPndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIPndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIPndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIPndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIPndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIPndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIPndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIPndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIP
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: [HOWTO] Rhodium, WEP, and You

Thanks for the tip; I'll give it a try.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2011, 11:30 PM
arrrghhh's Avatar
Testing Extraordinaire
Offline
Pocket PC: HTC Touch Pro 2 (RHOD400)
Carrier: Sprint
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,604
Reputation: 7360
arrrghhh is a trusted member of the communityarrrghhh is a trusted member of the communityarrrghhh is a trusted member of the communityarrrghhh is a trusted member of the communityarrrghhh is a trusted member of the communityarrrghhh is a trusted member of the communityarrrghhh is a trusted member of the communityarrrghhh is a trusted member of the communityarrrghhh is a trusted member of the communityarrrghhh is a trusted member of the communityarrrghhh is a trusted member of the community
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: [HOWTO] Rhodium, WEP, and You

Quote:
Originally Posted by adam1 View Post
5.Backup the following file: /data/misc/wifi/wpa_supplicant.conf***

where i can find that file???
Within Android...?

Either in terminal emulator, or thru adb.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2011, 11:38 PM
manekineko's Avatar
Regular 'Geeker
Offline
Pocket PC: Touch Pro 2
Carrier: Sprint
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 478
Reputation: 845
manekineko knows their stuffmanekineko knows their stuffmanekineko knows their stuffmanekineko knows their stuffmanekineko knows their stuffmanekineko knows their stuffmanekineko knows their stuff
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: [HOWTO] Rhodium, WEP, and You

Quote:
Originally Posted by arrrghhh View Post
Within Android...?

Either in terminal emulator, or thru adb.
Root Explorer should work too.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2011, 05:56 AM
adam1's Avatar
Regular 'Geeker
Offline
Pocket PC: HTC PRO 2
Carrier: SPRINT
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 179
Reputation: 70
adam1 is becoming a great contributor
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: [HOWTO] Rhodium, WEP, and You

dosnt work with me why???
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2011, 06:07 AM
adam1's Avatar
Regular 'Geeker
Offline
Pocket PC: HTC PRO 2
Carrier: SPRINT
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 179
Reputation: 70
adam1 is becoming a great contributor
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: [HOWTO] Rhodium, WEP, and You

NOW ITS WORK

thankx a million man
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2011, 07:48 AM
adam1's Avatar
Regular 'Geeker
Offline
Pocket PC: HTC PRO 2
Carrier: SPRINT
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 179
Reputation: 70
adam1 is becoming a great contributor
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: [HOWTO] Rhodium, WEP, and You

mmmm my friend i got it work but when i restart the phone try to turn wifi on its says Error restarted again same problem how to fix that??
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2011, 07:49 AM
ndno's Avatar
VIP Member
Offline
Pocket PC: Touch Pro 2
Carrier: Sprint
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 421
Reputation: 3570
ndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIPndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIPndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIPndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIPndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIPndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIPndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIPndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIPndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIPndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIPndno is still contributing even after becoming a VIP
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: [HOWTO] Rhodium, WEP, and You

Works great!

OK. I found another method working off post #1 that may be easier for some. I downloaded wpa_supplicant.conf from post #1, then edited it for my WEP wireless network (change ssid, auth_alg, wep_key0 according to my wifi network), copied it my SD card, then added this to the end of conf/froyo.user.conf

Quote:
mount --bind /sdcard/wpa_supplicant.conf /data/misc/wifi/wpa_supplicant.conf
Now when I boot in Android, it just works!!! May be easier for those who don't have RootExplorer or ADB or AndroidExplorer

@Adam, try this to see if it works everytime you boot in. Seems to work for me

Last edited by ndno; 02-04-2011 at 07:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2011, 08:53 AM
adam1's Avatar
Regular 'Geeker
Offline
Pocket PC: HTC PRO 2
Carrier: SPRINT
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 179
Reputation: 70
adam1 is becoming a great contributor
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: [HOWTO] Rhodium, WEP, and You

Quote:
Originally Posted by ndno View Post
Works great!

OK. I found another method working off post #1 that may be easier for some. I downloaded wpa_supplicant.conf from post #1, then edited it for my WEP wireless network (change ssid, auth_alg, wep_key0 according to my wifi network), copied it my SD card, then added this to the end of conf/froyo.user.conf



Now when I boot in Android, it just works!!! May be easier for those who don't have RootExplorer or ADB or AndroidExplorer

@Adam, try this to see if it works everytime you boot in. Seems to work for me
i did the same but still showing Erorr whats going on?? it was working good before....
Reply With Quote
Reply

  PPCGeeks > Windows Mobile > WM HTC Devices > HTC Touch Pro 2 > Android On TP2

Tags
android wep rhodium


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
©2012 - PPCGeeks.com