PPCGeeks

PPCGeeks (http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/index.php)
-   Samsung Galaxy Series (http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/forumdisplay.php?f=226)
-   -   epic RAM question.... (http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=132707)

2kidz 08-31-2010 01:50 PM

epic RAM question....

ok, i'm quite new to the android world so please be patient and talk slow and assume that i dont know what the hell i'm doing...with THAT said, the 1st of many questions that i am sure to have is my RAM is currently at 261/325mb's...i am not running any programs...is this normal??? seems like a pretty high number to me...if this is not normal, how can i DECREASE my RAM???

JickBahTech 08-31-2010 02:07 PM

Re: epic RAM question....

I'm assuming it's because of all the apps that run in the background.
If you use the built in TouchWiz task manager you can't see them, but if you load ATK you can see many more apps running.

Truthfully it hasn't really hampered the phone that much unless I have a BUNCH of games running in the background...

tokuzumi 08-31-2010 02:11 PM

This info tends to start battles of epic (hee-hee) proportions....but....

That's just the way Android is. In most cases, you will see a high percentage of ram utilization, but performance on the phone is pretty much the same. As you open stuff, background programs either give up ram for the active process, or close altogether. My old hero rarely ever shows more than 40 mb of free ram. My evo will fluctuate between 100-250, depending on how far out from a fresh boot I am. But the performance is always the same.

I would only worry about this if you are having performance issues with the phone.

2kidz 08-31-2010 02:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tokuzumi (Post 1930242)
This info tends to start battles of epic (hee-hee) proportions....but....