PPCGeeks

PPCGeeks (http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/index.php)
-   Samsung Moment (http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/forumdisplay.php?f=127)
-   -   Sprint - OEM App removal (http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=98701)

Aeroica 11-26-2009 01:03 AM

Sprint - OEM App removal

Forgive the nub question but I am new to android phones and I have noticed that Sprint is forcing a bunch of junk applications such as NFL, NASCAR and a friggin Bejeweled demo on a phone I paid way to much for not to be able to customize MY way.

What is the progress status of being able to remove this stuff off the phone? If anyone has any instructions I would appreciate it.

Thanks

TheWineLover 11-26-2009 02:00 PM

Re: Sprint - OEM App removal

+1 on this.

I just traded my Blackberry Tour for the Samsung M900 (I say M900 because the name "Moment" is entirely stupid!)

With an open sourced OS, one would think that being able to take off applications that aren't used would be a simple matter. So please, Masters, give us the 411... ;-)

Thanks to all, in advance, for sharing your knowledge to use 'droid newbs. :) =D>

- TWL

ramiss 11-27-2009 06:37 AM

I can see why they would err on the side of caution and not allow customers to remove apps that it came with. Otherwise it would be entirely too easy to remove very critical apps.

I agree we need this. Having an uninstallable demo of a crap game is just not acceptable! :)

johnnybu 11-27-2009 12:58 PM

Root access is needed to remove applications that are part of the ROM I think.

edit: There would be no way to get them back either. Do so at your own risk!

blazinazn 11-28-2009 12:27 PM

They are in ROM so the only way to get rid of those is by rooting and flashing a different OS

zefie 11-28-2009 01:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by blazinazn (Post 1368824)
They are in ROM so the only way to get rid of those is by rooting and flashing a different OS

Just rooting is sufficient.