PPCGeeks

PPCGeeks (http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/index.php)
-   Palm Pre (http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/forumdisplay.php?f=84)
-   -   okay i bought the pre...now what do i do? (http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=96058)

fixxxer2012 11-11-2009 09:38 PM

okay i bought the pre...now what do i do?

just bought a new palm pre instead of the hero. can you guys give me some helpful links to unlock the phone and theme it? maybe give me some tricks of the trade for a better experience?

fixxxer2012 11-11-2009 10:50 PM

Re: okay i bought the pre...now what do i do?

okay i figured out how to set the ringtone and change the wallpaper, google sync my contacts. i did some reading and im gonna wait to root until im comfy.

couple questions for a noob here:

how can i get yahoo messenger to work ?

can i set a separate tones for texts and emails?

NinjaMom 11-11-2009 11:33 PM

No need to root your phone. Get webos quick install from precentral.net. Install it on your computer. Put your pre in dev mode by typing upupdowndownleftrightleftrightbastart on your pre. Connect via to computer via usb. Select just charge on the pre.
Open quick install...The 3rd button on the right...push it. Select all feeds. Install the package manager first. Then preware.

Disconnect the pre. Turn off dev mode by typing in upupdowndownleftrightleftrightbastart

Then open preware on the pre and have fun!

khalid7412002 11-12-2009 02:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NinjaMom (Post 1321171)
No need to root your phone. Get webos quick install from precentral.net. Install it on your computer. Put your pre in dev mode by typing upupdowndownleftrightleftrightbastart on your pre. Connect via to computer via usb. Select just charge on the pre.
Open quick install...The 3rd button on the right...push it. Select all feeds. Install the package manager first. Then preware.

Disconnect the pre. Turn off dev mode by typing in upupdowndownleftrightleftrightbastart

Then open preware on the pre and have fun!