PPCGeeks Forums HTC Arrive HTC HD2 HTC Thunderbolt HTC Touch Pro 2 HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 3D Samsung Galaxy S II Motorola Droid X Apple iPhone Blackberry
Go Back   PPCGeeks > Windows Mobile > WM HTC Devices > HTC Vogue
Register Community Search

Notices

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2009, 12:35 AM
Lurker
Pocket PC: xv6900, ipaq h2200
Carrier: 'rizon

mmmbuh is a n00b
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
WAP Question(s)

Before I get started, yes I'm new to this forum; yes I'm new to scrambling my phone's functionality through boredom and being too cheap to pay for options that should be free (or a whole lot less expensive)...
I've spent a couple hours searching and can't locate what I'm looking for in a compact explaination...it doesn't help that there seems to be little on dealing with Verizon with this phone.
To make a long stort short (too late already), I'm simply trying to find a way, if possible, to view basic web content on my xv6900 without the expensive data plan - yes I know, mentioned already, but not in the way I did it before. I use as a model my previous phone, a Chocolate Mint vx8550. It was actually a very simple matter of changing just one value in the "paramtable1.fil" with bitpim, then accessing the system with "##program8550" and changing, in the proxy settings, the address and port values, and I was done. Turned the phone off, then on again, went to Get It Now...News and Info (which loaded Verizon Wireless Mobile Web), and I was online for free, except the minute usage on my plan, the same as if I was calling someone. No re-activating the phone, etc - took all of maybe 7 minutes to do. I simply am looking to see if anything similar to that is workable for the xv6900, or not, if it's a totally different system setup on Verizon's network. I'm not looking for streaming video or big downloads or gps, etc, just simple browsing such as reading the local newspaper or whatever.