PPCGeeks Forums HTC Arrive HTC HD2 HTC Thunderbolt HTC Touch Pro 2 HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 3D Samsung Galaxy S II Motorola Droid X Apple iPhone Blackberry
Go Back   PPCGeeks > Windows Mobile > WM HTC Devices > HTC Touch Pro
Register Community Search

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2009, 05:12 PM
PPCGeeks Regular
Pocket PC: HTC Touch Pro2
Carrier: Sprint

nyCecilia is becoming a great contributor
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Red face Please help sort out GPS without data plan, pretty please?

Hi, newbie here. I've been reading this forum for about 2 weeks trying to figure out my 3-week old Sprint Touch Pro. I've installed a few of the custom apps/tweaks (but haven't gone so far as to do a rom yet, as I haven't found a need to), some with and some without success...the ones that were without success have made me hesitant to install more stuff without first asking...so...

What I'm really crazy to do is to get the GPS working without a data plan. My main goal here, at a minimum, is to at least be able to map a route via the wifi in my home and have the map available to me (ie. offline) in the car, but googlemaps hasn't really cooperated much, it always defaults back to the beginning of the route even when I set the map to view just the part I need (usually the end). Since it goes back to the beginning, it then wants to use a data connection when I get to the complicated part, which I don't have/can't do. First question: is there any way to save just the maps I need for the trip without needing a data connect?