PPCGeeks Forums HTC Arrive HTC HD2 HTC Thunderbolt HTC Touch Pro 2 HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 3D Samsung Galaxy S II Motorola Droid X Apple iPhone Blackberry
Go Back   PPCGeeks > Windows Mobile > WM HTC Devices > HTC Touch Pro

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2009, 08:04 PM
Halfway to VIP Status
Pocket PC: HTC Desire
Carrier: Nex-tech Wireless

ChaosTheory knows their stuffChaosTheory knows their stuffChaosTheory knows their stuffChaosTheory knows their stuffChaosTheory knows their stuffChaosTheory knows their stuffChaosTheory knows their stuff
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Question Multimedia Messages - New User

Hi all, I am new to the HTC Touch Pro (had it about 2 weeks now) and to smartphones in general. I am sure my questions are very basic, but couldn't find anything that answered them.

1st question: A couple of people have tried to send me multimedia messages, but I am unable to download them. I asked my provider about it (Nex-tech wireless, I belive they are affiliated with ATT) and they said that smart phones are unable to receive multimedia messages. That doesn't sound right to me! They wouldn't be very smart if they couldn't. So is it possible maybe my network just can't send a multimedia message to my phone, or is the guy I talked to clueless? If so, what do I need to do to get them working?

2nd question: What is the difference between CDMA & HSM carriers, and how do I tell which one I have?

3rd Question: I notice a lot of tweaks for Verizon, ATT, etc, but I don't see any for my specific carrier (Nex-tech Wireless). This is no big surprise, as it is a smaller company with offices mainly in Kansas. My question is, can I use tweaks for other carriers, or at least similar carriers (I am assuming this will be related to the CDMA/HSM question) without damage, or am I stuck with manually editing my phone?

Thanks for all your help!

Chaos Theory
Old 06-08-2009, 09:26 PM
Regular 'Geeker
Pocket PC: Sprint Touch Pro 2
Carrier: Sprint