PPCGeeks

PPCGeeks (http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/index.php)
-   HTC Touch Pro (http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   New to Touch Pro / Windows Mobile (http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=45444)

speedy523 11-18-2008 08:13 PM

New to Touch Pro / Windows Mobile

Hey Everyone! Well first i got to say im glad i joined the forums :headbang:

Now moving on, im new to the Touch Pro as well as Windows Mobile. Im coming from an iPhone, which i know pretty well, but alas, the Touch Pro is better =D>

Well i have a couple of questions:
  1. Whats the difference between a hard and soft reset? And how do you preform each?
  2. How do you install Apps, and where do you find the most useful ones?
  3. Is there any way to get a newer version of Flash?
  4. Whats a ROM (is it like firmware for iPhone) and what are risks of flashing to a different one?
These are pretty much the basic questions i had, hope this isn't any trouble :)

vitaminjay1982 11-18-2008 08:39 PM

Re: New to Touch Pro / Windows Mobile

a hard reset is when you take the phone to its "fresh out the box" state. a soft reset is done by pressing in that really small button on the bottom of the phone.

app usually com in a zip folder or already in cab form. and your phone will handle both when opened. usefull really depends on the function you require. and most can be found here or over at xda.

as far as flash im not to sure on. i do think opera on the phone has it built in and some people have gotten skyfire to run on the touch pro.

a rom is the os of the phone. so yeah like firmware. flashing to a different rom is easy if you can follow directions.

brooklynsugabun 11-18-2008 08:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by speedy523 (Post 528011)
Hey Everyone! Well first i got to say im glad i joined the forums :headbang:

Now moving on, im new to the Touch Pro as well as Windows Mobile. Im coming from an iPhone, which i know pretty well, but alas, the Touch Pro is better =D>