PPCGeeks Forums HTC Arrive HTC HD2 HTC Thunderbolt HTC Touch Pro 2 HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 3D Samsung Galaxy S II Motorola Droid X Apple iPhone Blackberry
Go Back   PPCGeeks > Windows Mobile > WM HTC Devices > HTC Touch Pro 2
Register Community Search

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2009, 05:39 PM
PPCGeeks Regular
Pocket PC: TP2
Carrier: Sprint

CosmoPilot is keeping up the good workCosmoPilot is keeping up the good work
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
International Texting

As some of you may know, I'm a pilot who travels abroad. I know I probably should have a different carrier besides Sprint, but that's another story all together (and to be honest, I've always been pleased with Sprint service/prices).

When the TP2 came online, I was one of the first to order it. Part of the attractiveness of this phone was it's "global" capability. All my buddies have AT&T, and are able to text in pretty much any country we fly to at no additional cost (because they have unlimited text through AT&T).

Now, when I bought the phone, a customer service rep told me that Sprint does not guarentee texting will work, but it should just like any other phone. And if it does, it would be free as texting is part of my SEP.

Only after a million attemps to text in various countries this past weekend, did I actually go to Sprint's International website and do my own research (bad on me for not doing this first). In the fine print, it states, global texting is not yet availble for Sprint.

I have two solutions:

1. Order a SIM card for the country I'm going to at a rate of around $0.20 - to $0.30 per text....OR

2. Ask if anyone here knows how to make the TP2 work with the Sprint SIM card in it?

Thanks in advance,

On a side note, I was able to pick up all kinds of service providers overseas for voice calling (rates are horrible, but it is available with no hassle on your end w/the TP2).

Cosmo
Old 10-06-2009, 06:18 PM
The GrooGrux King
Pocket PC: HTC Evo