PPCGeeks

PPCGeeks (http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/index.php)
-   HTC Touch Pro 2 (http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/forumdisplay.php?f=97)
-   -   How to install software on Sprint HTC Touch Pro 2? (http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=140074)

gera229 01-22-2011 05:56 PM

How to install software on Sprint HTC Touch Pro 2?

I am new to this and I just got this phone and would like to install winmospeed and screen locking lockdevice app on my phone. I would like to know how to do it. Running stock rom.

Not connected to sprint network yet and my ERI version is 0 is this normal?

Dr.8820 01-22-2011 06:16 PM

Wirelessly posted (PPCGEEKS Fire Dept.: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows Phone OS 7.0; Trident/3.1; IEMobile/7.0; HTC; HD7))

What files are they? (Cab, zip, rar, exe)

mwalt2 01-22-2011 11:52 PM

Re: How to install software on Sprint HTC Touch Pro 2?

2 Attachment(s)
winmospeed and lockdevice are both cabs. You just copy them to your phone, browse to the location using File Explorer, press on them, and follow the prompts. I've attached the cabs for your convenience.

gera229 01-23-2011 12:18 AM

I've got it all figured out. Thanks.
It is Cabs.

Is installing rar, zip, and exe different? If so let me know how to do that.

mwalt2 01-23-2011 01:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gera229 (Post 2042455)
I've got it all figured out. Thanks.
It is Cabs.

Is installing rar, zip, and exe different? If so let me know how to do that.

rar and zip won't install. It will just extract whatever files are packed. A simple cab is basically the same thing, except that it puts the files in a specific location and may contain registry data. There are .exe's which can run on your phone. They will install things like cabs and may or may not have any user interactions (some exe's just run on the phone and do not install anything). cab's are by far the most common.

eric12341 01-24-2011 12:41 AM

have u ever had .rar or .zip on ur PC? that process is no different i promise.