PPCGeeks

PPCGeeks (http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/index.php)
-   HTC Titan (http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   Having trouble connecting Via ActiveSync (http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=8361)

CarlB 09-12-2007 02:41 AM

Having trouble connecting Via ActiveSync

I am new to PPC's and just got the 6800. I want to do Alltel's upgrade to WM6 and I downloaded ActiveSync 4.5.

When I connect my phone to my computer with the USB chord I get a message that pops up on my phone. It says " Synchronization Error: to synchronice this device, you must intall Activesync 4.1 or higher on your desktop computer"

Does anyone know what I am doing wrong?

divxrippimp 09-12-2007 04:30 AM

dude, i cant even get my computer to see the phone, i tried on missing sync on my mac, virtual windows on my mac, and 2 other windows pc's
all with active sync 4.5 installed, and they dont see the phone at all, it charges and such but no connectivity... it doesn't show as new hardware or anything...

CarlB 09-12-2007 12:04 PM

I uninstalled and reinstalled ActiveSync. Rebooted both my PC and PPC. They both recognize the connection put the PPC stil has the same error message when they try to connect.

rvashi 09-12-2007 12:13 PM

I am assuming that you guys are using WM5 so i am not sure whether you guys have this option but under SETTINGS, go in to USB TO PC. In there, just uncheck the "Enable advanced network functionality" and it should sync just fine!

I have the Sprint version with WM6 and it wouldn't recognize my device at all....and I am using Vista on both of my computers so I have Windows Mobile Device Center instead of Active Sync, but it shouldn't really make any difference.

scottishwarrior 09-12-2007 12:27 PM

Rvashi is correct, you have to uncheck the box and you will then sync. You will have to uncheck it after updating the rom to be able to sync again.

Jay