PPCGeeks Forums HTC Arrive HTC HD2 HTC Thunderbolt HTC Touch Pro 2 HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 3D Samsung Galaxy S II Motorola Droid X Apple iPhone Blackberry
Go Back   PPCGeeks > Windows Mobile > WM HTC Devices > HTC Titan
Register Community Search

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2007, 04:31 PM
Lurker

darren is a n00b
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Any way to remove IE?

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to the PPC scene. We are considering deploying a few HTC P4000's (Titan) to our users, however we do not want them to have web browsing access, even if they hard-reset the phone.

Is there a way to disable/remove Internet Explorer... even if someone hard resets the phone? (could this be done somehow via the Extended ROM or, would we need to produce a custom ROM to achieve this?).

I've done this successfully on a Treo 650 (created a custom ROM) and am wondering what my options are on PPC.

Much appreciated!
Darren
Old 05-31-2007, 04:34 PM
Elite Team Member
Pocket PC: 6700, 6800, 6900, 6850, Q, i730, Athena tp2 ++++
Carrier: Sprint and ATT

AstainHellbring is a VIPAstainHellbring is a VIPAstainHellbring is a VIPAstainHellbring is a VIPAstainHellbring is a VIPAstainHellbring is a VIPAstainHellbring is a VIPAstainHellbring is a VIPAstainHellbring is a VIPAstainHellbring is a VIPAstainHellbring is a VIP
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Wouldn't it be easier to just disable the data connection?
Old 05-31-2007, 05:20 PM
N00b
Pocket PC: Touch Pro
Carrier: Sprint

ianargent is a n00b
Probably have to do a custom ExtROM.
Old 05-31-2007, 06:00 PM
Lurker
Threadstarter

darren is a n00b
We would ideally like to use it as an email only device (no web surfing).

So, in creating an extended rom, would it be best to create a dummy Internet Explorer exe and package it into a cab file?

Thanks again,
Darren
Old 05-31-2007, 06:11 PM
PPCGeeks Regular
Pocket PC: Touch Pro 2

cordodor is becoming a great contributor
Send a message via MSN to cordodor