PPCGeeks Forums HTC Arrive HTC HD2 HTC Thunderbolt HTC Touch Pro 2 HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 3D Samsung Galaxy S II Motorola Droid X Apple iPhone Blackberry
Go Back   PPCGeeks > Android > Android HTC Devices > HTC Thunderbolt

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2011, 11:42 AM
PPCGeeks Regular
Pocket PC: HTC Touch - Alltel
Carrier: Verizon

Firsttimer is just getting started
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I'm new to Droid, why root this phone?

Please list the advantages you get from rooting a this phone if you will. I have been a WM6.5 user for years now. M y biggest need would be to make my phone (when I get it) a wifi hotspot that VZM does not charge me for using lots of data.
Old 04-09-2011, 04:33 PM
Banned User
Pocket PC: HTC Touch Pro2(Retired)/HTC Arrive(Sold)/HTC HD7
Carrier: T-Mobile

eric12341 is a VIPeric12341 is a VIPeric12341 is a VIPeric12341 is a VIPeric12341 is a VIPeric12341 is a VIPeric12341 is a VIPeric12341 is a VIPeric12341 is a VIPeric12341 is a VIPeric12341 is a VIP
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Re: I'm new to Droid, why root this phone?

the advantages u get from rooting are exactly the same as flashing a HSPL and/or custom rom on a WM device. when rooted ull be able to flash custom roms,radios and even tether. but Android is a little bit more complex when flashing custom roms. everything has to match otherwise u'll either mess up the radio in ur device or brick it completely. in short if all u want to do is WiFi tether then u won't need to flash a custom rom but if u want to do that be sure to follow the directions al pie de la letra or watch a YouTube video.

Last edited by eric12341; 04-09-2011 at 04:36 PM.
Old 04-09-2011, 07:59 PM
"The Fuzzy One"
Pocket PC: PPC6800 & Touch Pro 2 & Epic 4G
Carrier: Sprint