PPCGeeks Forums HTC Arrive HTC HD2 HTC Thunderbolt HTC Touch Pro 2 HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 3D Samsung Galaxy S II Motorola Droid X Apple iPhone Blackberry
Go Back   PPCGeeks > Windows Mobile > General Windows Mobile Discussions
Register Community Search

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2009, 01:06 AM
PPCGeeks Regular
Pocket PC: HTC touch diamond
Carrier: Sprint

Astrak is just getting started
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
What does brick really mean?

Okay, so I've heard the term "This will brick your phone" now I'm a Motorola technician and when we say a radio has been bricked...it really means that without the radio system admins 512bit code your radio will never be unlocked. Is this the same with cell phones? So if you accidently flash a GSM ROM/Radio does that mean your cell phone attempts to connect to a GSM network without proper authorization and the reply from the tower/system tells it to go into brick mode or is it something that has more to do with a hardware error that can be recovered from rather than replacing the phone.

I haven't done this I heed all warnings, I was just wondering how it works.
This post has been thanked 1 times.
Old 04-26-2009, 01:11 AM
The PPCG CR Guy!
Pocket PC: HTC EVO

Laos101 is a VIPLaos101 is a VIPLaos101 is a VIPLaos101 is a VIPLaos101 is a VIPLaos101 is a VIPLaos101 is a VIPLaos101 is a VIPLaos101 is a VIPLaos101 is a VIPLaos101 is a VIP
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Laos101
Re: What does brick really mean?

Brick is a literal term, it turns your device into a paperweight, AKA A brick.

Bricking a device goes beyond the actual components. You can brick ANY electrical device through MANY means. Bricking, in short often relates to some process that will often permanently destroy your device software-wise. It is often unrepairable except for that usual rare method that MAY save the device.