PPCGeeks Forums HTC Arrive HTC HD2 HTC Thunderbolt HTC Touch Pro 2 HTC Evo 4G HTC Evo 3D Samsung Galaxy S II Motorola Droid X Apple iPhone Blackberry
Go Back   PPCGeeks > Android > General Android Discussion
Register Community Search

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2010, 09:56 PM
Almost a VIP
Pocket PC: Samsung Galaxy S II Epic 4G Touch
Carrier: Sprint

jimmiekain is becoming a PPCGeeks regularjimmiekain is becoming a PPCGeeks regularjimmiekain is becoming a PPCGeeks regularjimmiekain is becoming a PPCGeeks regularjimmiekain is becoming a PPCGeeks regular
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via AIM to jimmiekain Send a message via MSN to jimmiekain Send a message via Yahoo to jimmiekain
Question I'm new to Android... few questions

I have had nothing but WM phones for the past 4 or 5 years so I have become accustomed to a few things. What I really want is the HTC HD2 but I'm not really trying to switch from sprint to t-mobile so I will probably get the htc supersonic when sprint gets it. Problem is, I have never used an android phone so i have a few questions about android...

Is it customizable? No, I dont mean widgets or backgrounds... What I mean is:
Are there custom taskbars?
Custom roms?
Custom dialer skins?
Registry edits?

How is the app selection? That may sound strange coming from a wm user but one of my favorite things about wm is that if i dont wanna pay for an app I can google it or find a torrent for it... Is this possible with android?
If I have an app I really like can I email the install (.cab) file to someone else with an android phone so they can have it too?
When I install an app can I choose storage card or device memory? (If I remove the card will the program uninstall?)
If I do pay for an app will i get it back if I need to swith / upgrade phones?

Does it multitask?
How many apps can I run at once?