View Single Post
Old 04-06-2008, 10:03 AM
bb2ppc
PPCGeeks Regular

bb2ppc is becoming a great contributor
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via AIM to bb2ppc
Re: Is there a tutorial for installing WM6.1?

Not that I know of but you can copy this from WM6. I do not take credit for the rightup.

Tutorial to upgrade your ROM to WM6 (pt.1)

Many people have requested a tutorial on how to upgrade or flash a new ROM. This is my best effort to create a “how to“. I am not a web developer or a windows mobile guru of any kind so there may be mistakes. Use this at your own risk. If you have questions do a search or post them in this thread and someone will attempt to help you. If I am wrong on any of this documentation, don’t worry someone will point it out and I will be glad to edit my post.

Edit: This is for Apache 6700 phones only.

The first thing you need to do is to setup. You will need to do or have the following items before you flash your ROM. Some are common sense things but I will list them anyway.

1. A computer running Windows XP or Windows Vista. I run XP so I don’t know how to instruct those of you running Vista, but there is plenty of reference to it in the forums. Make sure that your computer has an open USB port. I wouldn’t try flashing with your USB cable attached to a USB hub. No technical reason that I can give you, I just wouldn’t do it personally.
2. Active sync version 4.5. No other version will work for this process. It can be downloaded here as a free download.
3. A mini USB cable. One end should fit in the USB port on your PC and one end in the mini USB on your PPC.