View Single Post
Old 01-25-2010, 10:20 PM
teradog
VIP Member - Retired
Threadstarter

teradog is a trusted member of the communityteradog is a trusted member of the communityteradog is a trusted member of the communityteradog is a trusted member of the communityteradog is a trusted member of the communityteradog is a trusted member of the communityteradog is a trusted member of the communityteradog is a trusted member of the communityteradog is a trusted member of the communityteradog is a trusted member of the communityteradog is a trusted member of the community
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Re: Tellme vs Bing vs Voice Command (Speach only, no Keyboard)

Quote:
Originally Posted by maisonpulaski View Post
1. Voice command.
Here is my question- how in the heck do you even get voice command to work. i read a little in the help section (real helpful -not). it said to press "the button" and then speak. Hmmm- be nice to know what button they meant exactly.
I am a total noob. so if you can help me locate the infamous button, i would love to try voice command.

2. bing.
the voice function has never worked for me.

3. Tell me.
i wanted to use it for texting while driving. Less of a distraction right? wrong. i repeated the same phrase 100 times and it kept coming out in Chinese. if my wife spoke Chinese that would be great- but she doesn't.
so overall my voice experience has not been positive.
*edit* I'll add this to the first post for helping others without reading through all the posts
I typed a long response to this & lost it. Here's my 2 cents:
ALL VOICE ISSUES / TIPS:
A. Go into start, settings, system, Microphone AGC & ensure it is set to "Disable".
B. READ YOUR MANUAL & find exactly where the mic is on your unit, I find the best luck it to speak clearly (NOT slowly) 2 inches away, perpendicular (not directly at it to eliminate wind/breath noise)