Old 10-22-2009, 03:08 AM
quarky42
PPCGeeks Regular

quarky42 is keeping up the good workquarky42 is keeping up the good work
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to quarky42
Sprint CDMA Data Auto Disconnect Registry Entries

I am not familiar with Verizon data. Sprint uses that #777 number. I don't think they are the same, so this may be semi-Sprint specific.

I have found two ways that let my data autodisconnect.

Here is the "classic" way which I found all over the net:

Code:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Comm\ConnMgr\Planner\Settings]
"SuspendResume"=multi_sz:"GPRS_bye_if_device_off","","",""
"CacheTime"=dword:0000003c
"VPNCacheTime"=dword:0000003c
Here is another way that works:
Code:
"SuspendResume"=multi_sz:"#777","GPRS_bye_if_device_off","~GPRS!"
"CacheTime"=dword:0000003c
"VPNCacheTime"=dword:0000003c
and here is what I had in their before I started playing around with it:
Code:
"SuspendResume"=multi_sz:"#777","~GPRS!","",""
(I don't recall what my default cache time values were. They were high.)

Here is what I think is going on... if someone knows better then please tell us:

The SuspendResume key *IS* a multiline string key thatenables/disables the auto disconnect feature. That much is known and I accept. I am trying to understand the rest of it, as in why it is multiline and what the other possible values are supposed to do. Since it is a multiline string key and my original key had 2 values in it, I think they are flags.

I tried listing the flags in the opposite order:
Code:
"SuspendResume"=multi_sz:"#777","~GPRS!","GPRS_bye_if_device_off"
... but the auto disconnect did not work. I find it interesting that the autodisconnect did work in the other order though.

EDIT: "~GPRS_bye_if_device_off!" does not trigger the auto disconnect after the timer.